Garden Club of Darien


Mission Statement

The purpose of the Garden Club of America is to stimulate the knowledge and the love of gardening; to share the advantages of association by means of open meetings, conference, correspondence, and publication; to restore, improve, and protect the quality of this environment through programs and action in the field of conservation, civic improvement, and education.

Representatives to The Garden Club of America Committees from the Garden Club of Darien:

Carolyn Schoonmaker is a co-chair of the GCA Hospitality Committee. She is responsible for planning, preparing and overseeing the preparation of meals served at GCA headquarters, and for providing hospitality, including meals for the Board of Directors, national committees and member meetings at headquarters.  Christy Duggan is also on the committee and travels to headquarters to help with events.

Cyndy Stamm is the Zone 2 representative to the Admissions Committee. The purpose of the Admissions Committee is to evaluate membership proposals for clubs, GCA Honorary Members and Courtesy clubs in order to admit those clubs and persons which best exemplify and promote the ideals of The Garden Club of America.

Irene Miltimore is the Zone 2 representative for the GCA Garden History and Design Committee, which uses photography and research, the study of good garden practices, educational and lecture programs, historic preservation awards, and internships to develop an appreciation of America’s significant gardens.

The committee works closely with the Smithsonian Institution's Archives of American Gardens to document cultivated gardens throughout the country.

The Garden Club of Darien Judges,
certified by the Garden Club of America


Lois Baylis (Mrs. Robert M.)
Nancy Cammann (Mrs. George B.) Emeritus
Judy Rodriguez (Mrs. J. Paul) Emeritus
Eleanor Cassilly (Mrs. J. Stuart)
Debby McLean (prospective)                                                                                                               Carol Caulfield (candidate)      

Flower Arranging

Ann Webber (Mrs. Frank M.) Emeritus
Irene Miltmore (Mrs. L. Dean)


Amy Cammann Cholnoky (prospective)
Susan Cheswick Brewer (prospective)